2114 Cherokee St. | St. Louis, MO 63118 | 314-664-1234 | info@saxquest.com

Trivia Archive

July 2016 Sax Trivia Contest


  • Saxquest Gift Card ($ 25.00 value)


Luke Mankovich from Chesterfield, MO US

Contest background

This saxophone quartet was composed in 2006 based on the ideas and sounds of the Italian madrigal with the interesting theme of death. This piece is a 5 movement work that has melody and characteristics of Bach's “Jesu, meine Freude” and di Venosa's “Ecco Moriro dunque”. This quartet has become more popular than the composers first sax quartet piece Mountain Roads (1997).

Contest Question

Who is the composer and the work?

Correct Answer

David Maslanka – Recitation Book

Thanks to everyone who played this month's Saxquest Trivia contest. Please stop back and check out the new contest that's up and running now.